The world of golf and professional golf tournaments can be a little confusing.  Introduced in 2007, the Fed Ex Cup is a golf tournament wherein golfers qualify after accruing points over the course of an entire year.   The top 125 golfers on the point list qualify for playoffs, a series of four tournaments that culminate in the Tour championship. The points champion gets a large cash purse.  This golf cup introduced the concept of a playoff system among male pro golfers, much like in other sports like football, basketball and hockey.

The ‘regular season’ of the Cup begins in January and stretches until the middle part of August. The four majors namely the U.S. Open, British Open, PGA Championship, and The Masters are all part of the regular season. The same goes for other tournaments like the World Golf Championships that happen between week 1 of the regular season until the season-ending Wyndham Championship that ends in mid-August.

The regular season tournaments offer different points that golfers accumulate. At the end of the regular season, the golfers with the top points qualify for the playoffs. The top 125 golfers advance into the playoffs featuring four tournaments. These are the Barclays, the Deutsche Bank Championship, the BMW Championship and the Tour Championship.

The Barclays will have all the 125 golfers that qualify for the playoffs. The field will then be reduced to 100 for the next tournament, and then 70 for the BMW Championship, before further cut to 30 for the last tournament. The golfer with the most points after the Tour Championship is named the Cup Champion.

In the very short history of the Fed Ex Cup, Tiger Woods is the only one so far who has won the golf tournament twice, doing it in 2007 and 2008.  Other previous winners are Vijay Singh, Jim Furyk, Bill Haas, Brandt Snedeker, and Henrik Stenson.